It’s one of those days.

Oh, Christ in a handbasket. I have just had it with the world today.

Of the 20 most popular stories in the Fairfax fleet right now, one deals with the sexual assault of a 15 year old girl, three about a woman murdered by her controlling husband, one about a Liberal staffer assaulting women at a Parliament ball, one about a woman who was sexually abused by her father as a child, one about a woman robbed and sexually assaulted at knifepoint, and one about Greens Senator Sarah Hanson-Young being forced to send her perfectly calm two year old daughter out of the Senate during a division. Five more are about the murder of Desmond Moran, made sensational because two women are implicated.

I made the mistake of reading a few comments on the ABC’s Hanson-Young article. I wish I hadn’t. Sky news has a poll on children in the Senate: it was sitting at 90% no.

The number one trending topic on Twitter is #goodpussy. You can guess how that goes.

And the domestic abuse stories I hear around me get worse and worse.

Go on and tell me this isn’t systemic.

2 responses to “It’s one of those days.

  1. Aileen Wuornos

    It just keeps adding up and adding up.

    And people don’t fucking believe us when we say that femicide is embedded into the system, misogyny is at dangerously high levels and the rape culture, well, I don’t think I even need to elaborate.

    I swear, if someone asks me one more time “are you sure?” when I tell them my ex-boyfriend raped me I will actually punch them the fuck out.

  2. Online news editors pick stories they know people will click on, and surprise surprise, they always feature sex, sexual assault or abuse. (I should know, I work in online news.) Problem is, if you keep giving people those stories, that’s all they’ll read, so you end up going around in circles and everyone loses.

Leave a Reply

